I have started quite a few projects before and realised they were not for me , flower arranging, cake baking, you name it, I’ve probably had a go.  No surprises then that my Other Half didn’t really take me too seriously when I said I was writing.  I still can’t really bring myself to call myself a writer yet, but I’m on the way.  The OH had suggested ideas for a book in the past and I hadn’t followed through, mainly because I still had “The Novel” taking up most of the space in my head.  So, this time I decided it would be different.  I found Sue Johnson’s little book  ‘Creative Alchemy’ very motivating.  Her advice is to write 1000 words a day.  I decided this would be my target then and I would try to write every day, even if it was rubbish.  I needed to get into a kind of routine where ever I was and decided that I would be most creative in the mornings.  Between 9 – 12 became my writing time.  I am lucky enough to work from home, but I still needed to juggle two part time jobs, looking after a young son and the demands of house and home.  I realised I couldn’t use these as an excuse any more, but needed to see them as advantages.  I focussed on how proud they would be when I finished my first book. I consoled myself with the fact that I didn’t have to write between midnight and 3am like another writer of my acquaintance whose children didn’t get to sleep until the early hours.  I kept reminding myself I can do this.  Setting up my computer on the dining room table, I started to write on my trusty Mac Book, feeling a sense of childlike delight and even amazement as the blank white pages started to fill with ideas from my very own head. Nothing to this writing malarky, is there, I thought, I’ll soon have the book finished.  How wrong can you be?

