Style is obviously very personal – what appeals to one reader may not be the next person’s cup of tea.  So how do you develop your own personal style?  Most writers are influenced to a greater or lesser degree by what they read.  I remember at school being told off by my English teacher for always writing Enid Blyton type stories.  Well, as she was the only writer I had read at that point, it was hardly surprising.  I was told to go away and read books by other writers, advice which I think still holds true today.  The only problem now is that I have such a great variety of favourite authors from all different kinds of genres that it is almost impossible for me to choose a preferred style and totally beyond my skills to emulate a particular style.  So, all I can advise is be true to yourself.

I know from other people’s experience that publishers like to pigeon-hole you either by genre or style.   In my case, the WIP doesn’t really fit any specific genre – at the moment it’s a romantic thriller with a psychic twist, although that may change as we go on.  I did think that if I added a vampire and zombie and wrote an erotic scene I would have covered all bases.  However, that’s just not me.  Even more important, I don’t want to be likened to anyone else.  I’m sure this helps to sell books but , however much I may admire a writer and in some cases they may have written something that I wish I had written, it boils down to the fact that I am what I am.  I don’t want to be the next  somebody or other and in the words of Monty Python, ” We’re all individuals”. I really hope that despite being influenced by many authors, my work has a thread of individuality.  You’ll have to wait until it’s finished to find out.

