I don’t know about you but in the past, whenever I downloaded an ebook and found formatting errors such as different fonts and print sizes on the same page or characters that hadn’t appeared correctly throughout the book, especially accents etc, I did admit to thinking that it made an otherwise great book look.. well .. a bit sloppy. This is not unique to individuals self-publishing either, I may add! Well, never again!

I have just spent the best part of three days trying to format my first book. Now I know some of you out there have probably just downloaded a pdf file to Kindle without any problems but I was advised to strip out all the old formatting and create a prc document. It probably isn’t that difficult except that I have been working on a Mac and ended up tranferring documents between Mac and PC. I ended up with an O and an accent wherever there should have been speech marks, none of the apostrophes were correct nor any of the emdashes that I had inserted. It looked a mess and I didn’t realise why.

Thanks to a good friend who spent a whole day reformatting the document, I now have a manuscript to be proud of, with the added advantage that if I want to send it as a gift anytime, I now have it in a format that will go straight to Kindle. Don’t ask me exactly how she did it though, I am still in a state of awe!

